424 Main Street, Two story hotel, built by Richard Kott in 1890, originally had eight units and was known as the `Kott Hotel`. Around 1900, Mary Crenwelge of Fredericksburg purchased the hotel. She and new husband, W.L. Surber, ran the hotel under the name `Comfort Hotel`. The Surbers would transport hotel guests to and from the train depot with their horse drawn surrey.Mr. J. Wray purchased the hotel and the entire block in 1945. He converted the hotel rooms and enclosed the porches to become six apartments and rented them until 1978. The 1978 flood caused great damage, and the hotel deteriorated and remained empty for a time. In 2003, Suzanne Wray Smith and brother Steven Wray repaired the hotel and rented the downstairs apartment. The present owners, the Wilkes, have done extensive renovation and created two charming daily guest rentals upstairs, while keeping a long-term rental apartment downstairs. The two upstairs units feature architectural antiques for walls and shelving. Newly added antique metal ceiling tiles adorn a bathroom, and the bead board walls and clawfoot bathtubs keep the early 1900sí look. Another bathroom has a modern touch with a beautiful glass enclosed shower. Furniture pieces are built into the kitchen counters for added period authenticity and are topped with granite.