Windmill Inn Guesthaus
This home was built for Carl and Louise Ingenhuett Spenrath in 1894. Among his many talents, Carl was an accomplished stone mason. Both he and his wife were descendants of pioneer families who had settled in the Comfort area. The present owners are Kurt and Shirley Pankratz Solis. The handsome original two-story limestone block structure is sturdily intact today. Modifications by previous owners enlarged the home with a complimentary stone and wooden shingle addition. The Inn consists of a foyer, living room, kitchen, 2 bedrooms, a study and 2 bathrooms. The 124-year-old home was built on the southern bank of Cypress Creek. It has retained its beautiful pine flooring, high ceilings, bead board interior, as well as its original thick limestone walls. One unique feature, in the living room, is an historic painting by Selena Saur from “Joe’s Café” which Shirley’s father, Joe Pankratz, established in 1954. This painting was part of a panel which hung in the café. This beautiful home is currently used as a Guesthaus and comfortably sleeps up to five people. The Windmill Inn still exemplifies the original charm of its pioneer builders and owners.
Click here to view Today's Five